Habit Tracking is not Boring

Hey friends,

I can’t think of what to write today. So I’m sharing a simple technique I’ve been using lately to keep track of my habits and to keep them going: Habit tracking.

I know this doesn’t sound interesting at first, but trust me, it looks good when you get going. I’ll explain.

Every day you perform the task you want to do, you simply cross an ‘X’ on your calendar. How this helps is, that when you do the task regularly for at least a month, it creates this streak of X’s on your calendar. That looks really look and helps you remember the work you have done through the month. The progress you have made.

So it motivates you to continue doing the task because you don’t want to break the streak (yes, exactly why you keep using Snapchat).

Also when you are feeling low, you can just look at your calendar or your habit tracker app to see the progress you have made, and that you are actually doing the work.

I’ve been tracking my reading habit for a while now and this is how it looked for September.

I know my reading habit is not perfect. I missed a few days here and there. But I can definitely see the progress. So whenever I look back at it, I know that I have done the work and I should keep going.

What do you guys think about this? Let me know by replying to this email.

See you next week 👋

Teja

🍿 My favourite video this week:

This video by Harvard Business Review explained why small talk is actually important and how to get at it.

✉️ You can ask me any questions by clicking here. I’ll try to answer them in the next week’s issue.