Simple Brain Hack to Enjoy Hard Habits

You don't have to. You get to.

Hey friends,

Good habits are often hard right?

Studying - Hard
Making Videos - Hard
Writing - Hard
Meditation - Hard

But we can make anything attractive by making this slight shift in our mindset.

We often see these tasks as something that we have to do. I have to study. I have to make a video. I have to write this newsletter. I have to meditate. We see the world from the “have to” perspective. Instead, try this.

Try to look at it from the “get to” perspective. I get to gain knowledge by studying. I get to share my learnings with friends through my videos and writings. I get to tap into my inner self by meditating.

This slight shift in mindset transitions us from viewing those tasks as burdens to viewing them as opportunities.

The ultimate way to make a habit more attractive is to highlight its benefits rather than its drawbacks.

Very simple change. But a very effective change.

Story of a man in a wheelchair:

When a man in a wheelchair was asked whether it is difficult to be restricted to a wheelchair, he responded, “I’m not restricted to my wheelchair. I’m liberated by it. If It wasn’t for my wheelchair, I would be bed-bound and never be able to leave my house.”

I know, this brought a smile on my face too. This is so heartwarming.

That simple shift in his mindset completely changed his life.

How I applied this to my life?

Simple. I just started viewing my work from “have to” to “get to”.

I don’t do it because I have to make a video or write a newsletter. I do it because I get to share the things I learn with all of you. I get to write these beautiful pieces of information. I get to make these insightful videos. I get to share these beautiful stories that bring a smile on your beautiful faces.

Please let me know how you’re planning to apply this idea to your life by replying to this email.

See you next Sunday. Bye 👋

Teja

🍿This week’s video

This week I’ve shared a video on my YT channel about a simple system for effectively managing your time. So please watch it and let me know how you feel about it.

📚 This idea and the story above are from the book Atomic Habits. There are a lot of amazing ideas from this book that I’d like to share in my future issues of this newsletter.

🛒 If you wish to buy the book, please consider buying it from this link to support my work. Thanks :)

✉️ You can ask me any questions by clicking here. I’ll try to answer them in the next week’s issue.

Stats so far:

Youtube: 244 subs
Newsletter: 20 subs

yayyyy!

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is FREE. But you must be subscribed to 6-Minute Sunday to keep reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now